FOOD / SALAD / VEGAN

Kale & Quinoa Salad with Lemon-Parsley Dressing

This is a dense, nutrient rich lunch salad. It gets two points. One, because it’s healthy and two, because it’s  sooo TASTY! The magic here is the dressing and the sweet, crisp apples. When I eat this salad I feel energetic and satisfied. 

Kale, is loaded with calcium and helps lower cholesterol. And I quote, (from this website) “Researchers can now identify over 45 different flavonoids in kale. With kaempferol and quercetin heading the list, kale’s flavonoids combine both antioxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits in way that gives kale a leading dietary role with respect to avoidance of chronic inflammation and oxidative stress.” Sounds good to me.

Quinoa (Keen-Wa) as you probably know, is a “complete protein” it has more fiber than a slice of bread and is a natural source of iron.

If you make a batch of quinoa at the beginning of the week, you’ll have it to add to healthy recipes like this one, making lunch much quicker. I always cook it with a little olive oil and good quality salt.

Serves 1

For the Salad-

  • 2 c. Kale, chopped
  • 1/2 c. Cooked Quinoa
  • 1/2 c. Apples, chopped (braeburn apples are sweet and tart)
  • 1 T. Scallions, chopped

For the Dressing-

  • 1/8 c. Fresh lemon juice (1/2 a lemon)
  • 1 T. Fresh parsley, minced
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp Agave nectar
  • 1 T. Olive oil
  • Salt (just a smidge)
  • Fresh cracked pepper

In a small bowl, stir ingredients to make the dressing. In a large bowl combine the salad ingredients and toss in the dressing.

I served mine with homemade garlic hummus and blue corn chips.

11 thoughts on “Kale & Quinoa Salad with Lemon-Parsley Dressing

  1. Pingback: Corn Salsa – Kale & Quinoa Salad w/Lemon-Parsley Dressing – Lime&Blueberry Muffins | healthylifestyleideas

  2. thanks so much! I actually ended up trying your Kale & Quinoa Salad recipe today. I didn’t have plans on it, but I had all the ingredients. I had 1/2 of it with some left over curried sheppards pie. I also dipped a few corn chips into some store bought hummus and than dipped into the salad. WOW yum. GREAT combination. I have a cold kale salad recipe that has feta cheese in it. I made it a million times last summer. I took a break over the winter though. I’ll probably blog about it at some point.

  3. Thank you!! I still haven’t posted a hummus recipe yet. I just started blogging too! Isn’t it fun? I’m getting all of those creative juices out. I’ll be visiting your blog soon. Leila

  4. Im really loving your blog. I saw mention somewhere on your blog about hummus, but i cant find it? There are about 6 things on your site that i want to make. I like ur writing style. I started a new blog recently. I need to improve on picture quality, but check it out Some vegan items and plans for many more.

  5. I was just saying to my husband that I needed a new salad dressing recipe and, lo and behold, your blog is freshly pressed. And I was also looking at Kale in the organic produce section the other day wondering how to eat it. What a coincidence! AND I have some leftover quinoa to use up, too! I will enjoy searching your blog for more dressings and salads. Thanks!

  6. Yum inspired me for my lunch menu today, Thanks….headed off to the garden to do some harvesting. :)

  7. i’ll skip the hummus but boy does this look good – going to publix today anyway so i will pick up the ingredients and give it a try!!!

Leave a comment