BANTER / CASA

Guess What Today Is…

…It’s Thursday, it’s National Peanut Butter Day, statistically, “the most depressing day of the year” but also, one year ago today {Ms. Buena Vida} was born. That makes today my very, merry blog birthday!

I started the blog so that I could express myself creatively, so I could share with friends and so that I could motivate myself to live a fuller life. I love blogging. I actually can’t think of an aspect of it that I don’t like.

how to blog

I named it Ms. Buena Vida, “Ms. Good Life,” to communicate about my fondest pleasures- food, family, gardening, beauty. Now it seems to be becoming more of a food blog. Sometimes I feel guilty because I think that I should post more in my other categories. I want it to be well-rounded. Oh well, what’s a girl to do?

My first post was Leila’s Roasted Red Pepper Goat Cheese Dip. I posted it to share the recipe with a couple friends, who had asked for the recipe, after a potluck. It’s tasty! When I first started my blog I took all of my photos with my phone. Ha ha and it showed. When I look back on my old photos, I cringe. I think about switching them out with new ones because I posted some of my favorite recipes during this time. Ain’t nobody got time for that. At least I can see a bit of growth from my photos! Unfoutanetly, my spelling hasn’t improved.

When my blog was around three months old my Chunky Salad with Basil Vinaigrette was “Freshly Pressed” in other words, featured on WordPress.com’s homepage. The funniest part about it, it was some random salad that I whipped up for my lunch. The Basil dressing is still one of my favorites. It was pinned on Pinterest so many times and I received some 9,000 views from WordPress. It was really exciting!

garbanzo salad

Sometime around then my “How to Build a Raised Bed (the blonde way)” gained popularity on Pinterest. Here are some of the recipes that people have pinned of mine lately.

how to build a raised bed

Since then, I’ve created a Twitter Account, Facebook Fan Page, posted photos on Tumblr, Instagram, and I’ve busy pinning on Pinterest. It’s busy, yeah!

Screen Shot 2013-01-23 at 4.12.26 PM

In addition to all of this boring stuff, in the last couple of weeks, some of my recipes are making their way on TasteSpotting and FoodGawker and that is helping my traffic immensely. There’s no going back now!

Screen Shot 2013-01-23 at 4.30.45 PM

So what’s next?

I would really love to sell Ms. Buena Vida’s Fresh Salad Dressings & Dips at local Farmer’s Markets and in gourmet grocers. It’s what I love making and what I love eating. I can’t imagine anything more fulfilling professionally.

When will that happen?

Only God knows, that’s for certain. But you can be sure you’ll hear about it when it happens (’cause I’ve got a BIG mouth).

You may not hear from me for a little while because we are moving to the beach, in couple weeks, for realz this time!

Love you my friends. Thanks for following and supporting me! It means the world. xo

16 thoughts on “Guess What Today Is…

  1. Congratulations! Isn’t it fun doing all of this? It seems to keep getting better and your blog is no exception – Happy Blogiversary!

Leave a comment